​​ ​​​Your Sabbatical Team

 
 

A ‘Sabb’ is elected by the student body, whilst a student at the University, to represent all Surrey students at the University. The five ‘Sabbs’ are responsible for the daily running of the Students’ Union, and work alongside a dedicated team of permanent staff to make sure that your student experience is the best it can be. The ‘Sabbs’ are accountable to all students as their position is held as a direct result of a democratic process. Their responsibilities are to push for the interests and benefits of students and to lead the student movement forward.

 

 
 
Alex Homepage Image 2017.pngAli Homepage Image 2017.pngSaskia Homepage Image 2017.pngJess Homepage Image 2017.pngHelena Homepage Image 2017.png
 

Supporting the ‘Sabbs’ are several Officers:

 

The student officers are students who take a specific interest in a particular issue or section of the student population. Most importantly, they are part of a team of representatives and they are here to make sure the Union keeps a high profile around campus, communicates properly with students and takes everyone’s interests into account.

Exec Team 2017-18.png
 
 
 
 

Full Time Staff 

 

The Union is also staffed by a dedicated team of permanent employees:

 
 ​

Alan-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Alan Sutherland

Role: Chief Executive Officer

What can Alan advise students about? 

Campaigning advice and Union Bylaws. 

a.sutherland@surrey.ac.uk

Debra-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Debra Rideout

Role: Deputy Chief Executive Officer

What can Debra advise students about? 

Student's own funds including control, usage, fundraising. 

d.rideout@surrey.ac.uk

Caroline-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Caroline Royle

Role: Human Resources and Staff Development

What can Caroline advise students about? 

Caroline can advise students who already work for the Union on

 how to progress within the Union and how to better your chances

of getting jobs outside the Union. 

c.royle@surrey.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alex Mackenzie Smith

Role: Student Voice Manager

What key things can Alex advise students about?

Any matters relating to Course Reps, the democratic processes of the Union  - including Union elections,

a.mackenziesmith@surrey.ac.uk​​

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kara Nutley

Role: Student Activities Manager

What key things can Kara advise students about?

Any matters relating to student activity, and it's delivery. 

k.nutley@surrey.ac.uk

 Helen-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Helen Overfield

 Role: Course Rep Coordinator

What Key Things can Helen advise students about?

Becoming a Course Rep and any queries relating to the role.

Casework - including: Extenuating circumstances,

academic integrity, disciplinary issues,

complaints / appeals, fitness to study and

fitness to practice. 

h.overfield@surrey.ac.uk

Jade-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Jade Johnson

Role: Entertainment and Venue Manger

What key things can Jade advise students about?

 Jade can advise on anything that brings students together to

 meet and socialise. Including, ticket enquires and how to

book a Union venue or hold an event.   

jade.johnson@surrey.ac.uk

Lisa-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Lisa Lynch

Role: Communications Manager

What can Lisa advise students about? 

How to publicise your event, activity or group. Press release

writing and Club and Society logo approvals.

l.lynch@surrey.ac.uk

Alex-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Alex Tolley

Role: Operations Manager

What can Alex advise students about? 

How to get the most out of your sports and society

webpages.

a.tolley@surrey.ac.uk 

Ian-L-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Ian Lipp

Role: Technical Manager

What key things can Ian advise students about? 

The best sound system for your predrinks! 

i.lipp@surrey.ac.uk

James-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

James Lackovic

Role: Deputy Venue Manager

What key things can James advise students about?

Questions relating to Union venues such as

Hari's Bar, Rubix and The Basement

j.lackovic@surrey.ac.uk

Natalie-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Natalie Bancroft

Role: Finance and Legal Controller

What key things can Natalie advise students about?  

Club and Society finance questions and sponsorship and

contractual enquires

n.bancroft@surrey.ac.uk​

 

Ian Thumbnail 2016.jpg 

Ian Handy

 Role: Community and Events Coordinator

What key things can Ian advise students about?

Community based events on and off campus,

Online Ticket Sales, Bar Crawls and Guest List/VIP

i.handy@surrey.ac.uk

 

 

 

Maddie-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Maddie Thomas

Role: Volunteering and Engagement Coordinator

What key things can Maddie advise students about?

Maddie can advise clubs and societies on facilitating or

 taking part in any volunteering projects. Including the

 Duke of Edinburgh award.  

maddie.thomas@surrey.ac.uk

Hannah Jones

Role: Course Rep Coordinator

What key things can Hannah advise students about?

Any matters relating to Course Reps.

hannah.jones@surrey.ac.uk

Jodie Barnes

Role: Activities Coordinator

What key things can Jodie advise students about?

Any matters relating to student activity, and room bookings

jodie.barnes@surrey.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Julian Frank

Role: Video Content Producer

What key things can Julian advise students about?

Any matters relating to video production and adverts on the Union's digital screens. 

julian.frank@surrey.ac.uk

Sian Connelly

Role: Digital Communications Assistant (placement)

What key things can Sian advise students about? 

How to utilise social media for campaigns, your society or

sports club, volunteering (fundraising), etc. 

ussu.digitalcomms@surrey.ac.uk ​

 

 

Kath-Thumbnail-2016.jpg

Kath Phillips (Currently on Maternity Leave)

Role: Student Voice Manager

What can Kath advise students about? 

All academic and welfare related issues, as well as helping you

 to navigate and understand the Union's processes of democratic

 decision making.   

katherine.phillips@surrey.ac.uk 

 ​

 

 

 


 

 


 ​​

 
 
 
 
The University of Surrey Students' Union is a private limited company, registered in England & Wales with registered number 07470232, registered at the address above. The University of Surrey Students' Union is a registered charity, registered with charity number 1142479